Skip to content

Smith & Simon Genealogy

April 26, 2012

I have many people in my family to thank for helping me with my genealogy project. Them have done a lot of the leg work, spent their time, and money on searching for relatives. It is the combined efforts of several people on both sides of my family that was able to piece together and publish my family tree. I was able to interview my Pat and read a bit of my great uncle Hubert’s introduction of his book to get information on how they found these names. Speaking with my aunt, she told me how hard and time consuming finding all these names were. At the time of speaking with her, she was working on my grandmothers side as well. On the Smith side she came across several bumps, but was able to contact other family members to get information. She found most of her information in the genealogy section at her local library in Sulphur, Louisiana. My aunt was able to also share with me the article of John Moses Smith’s Texas legacy which I will include later.

As for the Simon family, no one was able to interview personally, but have heard through the grapevine that it took a long time to finish. I found several stories of members who were not directly related to me, but still very interesting as it was Simon history. My favorite story to read was a story I heard when I was 15. I was told in Cajun French, so I did not understand every part of the story. The parts I did understand was that there was buried treasure, a fire, and a murder. Many of the older members of my family do not speak English, and I never knew enough french to be able to communicate with any of them. When they published the book, the story was published in English, and it was pretty interesting in English as it was in French. I also learned that the parents of my ancestor Marie Magdeleine Aucoin, wife of Jean-Baptiste Simon, Sr., were prisoners during the “Grand Dérangement.” I also was able to read how the Acadian men were ordered to arrive at the Catholic Church September 5, 1785 and were locked in. They told the men that their wives and children would be killed if they did not go willingly. As their ships left, women hopelessly threw themselves on the ships to be with their husband and children. The book was published by Mertie Simon Melancon, and she provided several letters and sources for her information:

Family History Library – Salt Lake City, Utah

Archives Département D’Ille-et-Vilaine, France

Notarial Archives, New Orleans

Southwest Louisiana Records By Rev. Donal Hebert

Crowley Court house

Lafayette Court House

Opelousas Court House

St. Martinville Court House

St. Martinville Library

USL Library

Lake Charles Library

Acadian Odyssey By Rev. Oscar William Winzerling

Charles C. Trahan

Diocese of Baton Rouge Catholic Church Records

Beloved Acadia of My Ancestors by Yvon Leger

The Opelousas Post by Gladys Devillier.

From → Genealogy

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

